Hartlepool Sixth Form College

Health and Social Care

BTEC Health and Social Care

Course Content

The National Diploma and Extended Diploma consists of 8 mandatory units which include:

  • Developing Effective Communication
  • Equality Diversity and Rights
  • Health Safety and Security
  • Development through the life stages
  • Anatomy and physiology
  • Personal and professional development
  • Sociological Perspectives
  • Psychological perspectives

There are also a range of additional units to be undertaken to further extend learners knowledge of health and social care issues. In addition to this students undertake 100 hours of practical placement across the two years in a range of placements such as, the women’s refuge, specialist Alzheimer’s residential care and day care. Special school for young people, alongside mainstream care and educational settings.


Each Unit is internally assessed within college and is given a grade on a scale of Pass, Merit or Distinction.


Past Students are highly successful at gaining university places such as:

  • Kings College London – Adult Nursing
  • Teesside- All branches of Nursing, some progressing onto Midwifery.
  • Northumbria – Social working
  • Nursing /Psychology
  • York – Occupational Therapy
  • Leeds Met – Adult Nursing
  • Sunderland - Early Years

Our past students have been successful in obtaining employment in a range of health and social care settings such as. Care assistant, teaching assistant, dental nursing and rehabilitation.

BTEC Certificate in Health & Social Care 2016 results – 100% Pass Rate and 100% High Grades

BTEC Extended Diploma in Health & Social Care 2016 results – 100% Pass Rate and 91% High Grades

Level 2 Health and Social Care

Course Content

The Award provides an introduction into the field of Health and Social Care. You will study a number of core units and further specialist units, in order to follow areas of specific interest or to link units to give greater depth of vocational understanding. The purpose of these units is to provide you with the opportunity to apply your knowledge, skills and understanding within a vocational context.


The Award in Health and Social Care includes one externally assessed unit and 3 units which are internally assessed allowing you to receive feedback on your progress throughout the course.


On successful completion of your level 2 qualification you will have the opportunity to progress to level 3 Health and Social Care, Childhood Studies level 3 or indeed any other level 3 course providing you meet the entry requirements.

Many students who study at level 2 progress to level 3 study as they often have already decided on their chosen vocation. Others have progressed to apprenticeships in related areas and employment.

Download the course leaflet