Hartlepool Sixth Form College

Courses for School Leavers

Hartlepool Sixth Form College is the only dedicated sixth form college within the town of Hartlepool. We provide a range of A level, BTEC, Foundation Degree and Adult Learner courses.


A Level Reform

What will it mean for Hartlepool Sixth Form College?

From September 2016, Hartlepool Sixth Form College will offer prospective students the opportunity to study 3 subjects in the first year with a view to continuing with them in the second year. This is in line with the government reforms of A Level and there will still be two types of A Level, these are the current modular A Levels and the new linear A levels. Linear A levels will be in the following subjects:

  • Art
  • Biology
  • Business
  • Chemistry
  • Computing
  • Economics
  • English Language
  • English Literature
  • English Language and Literature
  • Geography
  • History
  • Modern Foreign Languages
  • Physics
  • Psychology
  • Religious Studies
  • Sociology

The above are assessed by final examination (and coursework where specified) at the end of the two year A level course. AS levels will be available in these subjects and can be taken after one year of study. However, marks from the AS level will not contribute to the full A level grade.

All other subjects offered by Hartlepool Sixth Form College are modular A levels. These are assessed through AS examinations/coursework at the end of the first year of study, and A2 examinations/ coursework at the end of the second year of study.

It will still be fine to combine modular A levels and linear A levels in your programme of study.

Hartlepool Sixth Form College intends on offering additional subjects that will enhance our students’ competitiveness when applying to Russell Group Universities, for employment or Apprenticeships.